• english
  • |
  • italiano
  • |
  • español
  • |
  • français
European green capital awards

The registration page for applicants of the 2019 European Green Capital and 2018 European Green Leaf Awards invite you to check whether your city is eligible for the awards, and to which scheme you may apply. Both awards schemes are open to EU Member States, EU Candidate Countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. Time limit for receipt of applications (both awards): 3 November 2016.

European Green Capital Award:

All cities from the countries listed above which have more than 100,000 inhabitants can apply for the award (in countries where there is no city with more than 100,000 inhabitants, the largest city is eligible to apply).

European Green Leaf Award:

All cities from the countries listed above which have between 20,000 and 100,000 inhabitants at the date of application can apply for a European Green Leaf.

Nijmegen is 2018 European Green Capital!

The European Commission has named the Dutch city of Nijmegen as 2018 European Green Capital.

The award, which recognises the efforts of municipal authorities in improving the urban environment, was presented by Joanna Drake, Deputy Director-General of DG Environment, on 22 June at an award ceremony in Ljubljana, the current European Green Capital.

Read more at: http://www.euconf.eu/egc-egl-application/